Friday, 31 May 2019

Holy cow


Weight today : 13 13½
Holiday gain : 11lbs

So my first weigh in after returning from holidays was showing a gain of virtually a stone!! (Lost 2lb since then lol) I don't know why I'm so surprised, I normally gain ½ stone in a week aka 1lb a day, so a 2 week holiday... Obvs! (I must have had a great time though).

I have to admit there were some noticeable benefits to going away 2 stones lighter than last time -

1. I'm so hot in the evenings that I usually have to always wear my hair up, as it feels like wearing a blanket on my back but this time I didn't need the obligatory pony tail or bun! Of course my hair still looked a mess, frizzy with the humidity and heat, but a long mess rather than an up mess.

2. I could tolerate a napkin across my lap when eating outside. Sounds stupid but my extra insulation makes me very warm normally and table cloths against my legs are just too many layers.

3. Not drowning when lying on a float in the pool on my tummy. Lying on my back is always fine but when I flip over my extra weight makes the float sink and the pool water covered my mouth and nose. This time I could happily float and continue to breathe air. A bonus I find!

4. I needed a medium BCD (the diving jacket) instead of a large. I was very excited with this! Whoop whoop

So after last week's post my sister suggested that I don't eat wheat! Ha ha, sensible idea I suppose. Well I can tell you now that I did try. All the way until lunch when I ordered a pizza (they bring it to the sunbed/pool side - awesome). So I realised that this was disappointing so I tried harder and managed until dinner, when they offered delicious warm bread with oil and balsamic (come on, admit it, who could say no?). I could hear sis nagging so I tried extra hard, until bed time when I accidentally had a warm chocolate chip cookie with my coffee (or glass of Bailey's). But I did honestly try!!

How to have a beach body? Have a body and go to the beach! 

PS Yes that's me diving in the picture - cool shot I thought. Just slowly descending to the bottom inn the sea bed.

Thursday, 23 May 2019

What a difference a week makes!


So for those that don't know (not many of you) I'm on my holly-days. In Jamaica, yeah mon!

If you've been reading my blog for awhile you'll know that I don't say things to be popular or what I think my readers will agree with. But neither do I say stuff just to be controversial or to get a reaction. These are just my own views - maybe warped or strange, but still just what I think about life. I don't seek your approval or appreciation, though I do love your comments on Facebook!!

Now I am very aware (and prepared) to put on a few pounds whilst away. I'm not naive or under any illusions - if I eat more than I usually do and drink lots of cocktails then the scales will change. However the shock has been in the bloating! Of course this is wheat. (Long story short - wheat made me sick, blood test showed intolerance, probably shouldn't eat it). And here is the but!...but my sister's and daughter and cousin and nephew have coeliac disease which means gluten is 100% off their menu! But I just have a intolerance which is so different, I almost feel obliged to eat a bit of wheat - pizza, bread at dinner, cookies! Because they absolutely can not. But my God!!! So I don't get the horrendous stomach cramps like I used to but the bloating is something to behold! My tummy looks 7 months pregnant and my face looks like a balloon! It's at the point where I don't want my photo taken. It's disgusting! You could take a pin to my face and burst it! Not nice at all.

But let's end on a good note. I have been such a brave piglet. We went to the Blue Holes - waterfalls with clear blue ponds. But you had to jump in! And the jumps got higher and higher! The last one was 15' high. I was so very scared (I was even crying) but I was so determined!! Anyway I did it and was proud of myself. It made the zip lining later than day a breeze lol.

Fear is temporary, regret lasts a lifetime!

Thursday, 16 May 2019

Peacock Gilly



So I've been parading around like a peacock this week. Look at me - I've lost 2 stone. Aren't I skinny and gorgeous? Then I catch my reflection in a mirror, and I swiftly tuck my tail back in. All I see is a chubby lass with 3 stone to lose. Now this is not a woe is me! I've lost 2 stone and that's great and I'm very happy with it. But I must not lose sight of my goal! I feel healthier, I look better and I'm happier...but I still have a way to go.

It's a bit weird how I'm actually quite shy (stop laughing) and on one hand want to hide away under a paper bag, and on the other I post pictures of myself half naked! I assure you the pics are not me boasting but more an acceptance of how things really are. I don't like my wobbly bits but they are real. I guess if you don't like it it up to you to look away and not me for hiding. Does this make sense? I walk around the house naked all the time - my 18 year old son doesn't even bat an eyelid.  And why should he? The naked body should not be hidden as if ashamed but shown in all its glory! I sound so confident but strip me naked on a beach and I'll run for the hills lol.

The other day I was wearing my sliders aka stupid footwear that look like slippers (But I love mine lol) and they are - slippers and sliders! I slipped and slid and fell on my arse! And if that wasn't bad enough I also pee'd my pants a little. The shock or the physical bump? Dunno but how awful is that?? I don't think anyone noticed or minded...but just another Gillyism. They are growing. An icon in my own life time (in my head!)

So no weight today. Away on my holidays - sunny Jamaica! Yah mon! It is supposed to ease the blow of turning 50! Who knows if it'll work but it's hot and sunny and I'll be drinking cocktails all day (this is my Jamaican diet) so I'm not worrying, I'm being happy.

When I get naked in the bathroom the shower gets turned on!

Thursday, 9 May 2019

The world according to...

I'm sorry the quality isn't great but hopefully you can see my weight loss. ('After' is top, 'before' is bottom - just in case you can't tell). Just another 3 to go! But I'm almost half way!!

Weight today: 13 2½
Loss this week: 3
Total loss: 2st 2½!!! Got there!!

I don't know why I can't write further up, it doesn't seem to like 2 pictures!

So? The world according to Gilly (I'm not having a dig at anyone. No one to get upset or annoyed. I'm only sharing my personal views (and they are my views only)) -

LATENESS - this really bugs me! Now sometimes everyone can be late, even me. I might be just about to leave the house when I suddenly need a poo, or the car won't start, maybe the dog has been sick. But you guys out there who are serial offenders, Get a grip! If you're late coming to my home that's not so bad, I'll probably tell you to arrive 30 minutes sooner than I want (I've got you pegged). But if I'm meeting you in a cafe or outside M&S in the metro centre 😉 I just find it plain rude. What you are telling me is that my time is not as important as yours!! There are no excuses for this continual tardy behaviour!

TROLLS - ooh my, social media. People think they can just say what they want, that it's ok because you're not face to face - well it's not! I've not really had anything like this myself though I once complained on the Lidl Facebook page that when I didn't have a coin for the trolley (unlike Asda, who always help - coin/token/ tool) the staff couldn't care less, and they lost £50 sale. Two complete strangers made rude comments about why the hell I expected Lidl to just give me £1 coin. I was speechless (I know?!) But a friend came to my aid and replied to them lol. Don't be rude, mean, disgusting or worse! If you can't say anything nice say nothing at all!

GRAMMAR - a few of my friends are laughing at this already. (or tutting, and muttering FFS under their breath) I spend my life correcting people. I don't mind C U instead of see you, but get your there/their/they're or your/you're right! Drives me mad. Use commas and full stops. A comma can change the meaning of a sentence! I get that some errors belong to your phone with auto correct but come on! PS use spell check! PPS I'm not an expert and make errors too but at least I try lol.

FRIENDSHIPS - friends are super important. Take time to stay in touch, be nice and cherish your mates. You'd be lost without them.

ANIMALS - we had a dog when I was young but not in my married life until my imaginary Great Dane! Then we got my gorgeous Labrador. Since then I've gone dog mad and love them all. I like cats and rats too. Animals, especially pets are just amazing! Treat them right, they love you unconditionally! Bring back the death sentence for horrendous people who do horrendous things to animals!!

BREXIT - ha ha no comment!!

So that's my rant. I hope it gave you a small insight to who Gilly is. Not many surprises I'm guessing. You know me too well.

Please use caution when hunting pedestrians using this walking track.

Please use caution when hunting, pedestrians using this walking track.


Thursday, 2 May 2019

20 years!

WARNING : contains bad swear words and details of my marriage - look away now if you'd rather not read!

Today's weight : 13 5½
Loss this week : 2½
Total loss : 1st 13½lbs

How close can a girl be? Just ½lb to go for my 2 stone. I can taste it! And it tastes like Smarties!

So what has scuppered my weight loss this week? Nothing! I did have an early birthday celebration with some of my girlfriend's. A gin tasting! They were horrible. Well one of the brands was ok but the others were yuk. I drank them all obviously - thinking of the environment, waste not want not 😀 and then we had some wine and a lovely night was had by all.

So I had my 20th wedding anniversary this week! Can't believe it has been so long. It's flown!. Now we've had our ups and downs, like all relationships. Some downs lasted a day or a week or a season but we got through. I once threw a book at him (and it hit him on the head, which I know is really bad). He's broken stuff in his temper - my mop one time ha ha ha. Now my husband is not at all romantic, in fact he can't even spell romance! And in all these years he has never volunteered those 3 little words... fuck off bitch! Lol. Honest he has never told me he loves me. I get a lot of 'I love you too' s replying to my declarations but he never manages it himself. This used to upset me but he always rationalized it by saying he didn't need to tell me as he shows me. And I can't argue. When I'm unwell he'll make sure the toilet is spotless for me to throw up, he never complains when I spend money, he picks me up at all hours when I'm drunk (and cleans the car if I'm sick) and though he did put his foot down at a Great Dane ('it'll be like having a small pony in the house') I did get my gorgeous Labrador!

Talking of my lovely puppy (she's nearly 5 lol) she is off all her meds and doing great. Her anxiety hasn't gone completely but she's much improved. I love her more than anything and she's my pal.

Don't let yesterday take up too much of today.

Me : I'm going to talk about our marriage on my blog. Is that ok?
Him : Depends what you say
Me : Just what a shit husband you are.
Him : Ah that's fine then