Friday, 27 October 2017

Postal cat



This is how we box them up ready for shipping. 

Not had a good week personally. Don't know if I can make this post humorous 🙁 I might be reduced to Knock Knock jokes! So I'll just tell you about healthy eating. 

So my weekend was my weekend. I made lunch for friends - a nice healthy one with a very unhealthy dessert! Sunday I was Christmas shopping with hubby and then we had afternoon tea. The whole works - sandwiches, scones with clotted cream and yummy cakes! 

I made the decision that from Monday morning I'd seriously try to lose weight. From then until Christmas Eve nothing 'bad' would pass my lips. I wouldn't calorie count, or slimming world syns, or weigh or measure but I would only eat healthy food! Now what is healthy food you ask? What's healthy to one person is not to another. Orange juice - bad or good? Pasta - bad or good? Beef - bad or good? I just went with my gut and what the majority would agree with. Basically out goes biscuits, sugar, crisps, fried foods, chocolate, highly processed food etc. You know? The obvious stuff. I thought two months of this and surely I'd lose weight? Well it lasted until 11am when I had a biscuit!!!

I don't know what to tell you? I just can't seem to do it. Any of it. I'm a lost cause. We all know you need the right frame of mind to diet (I hate that word but let's face it, that's what it is). And I'm really not there. I can't keep battling like this. Until I feel better I've no chance at all. 

Knock Knock
Who's there?
Figs
Figs who?
Figs your doorbell!

Don't judge my path if you've never walked my journey.

Friday, 20 October 2017

Temporary teeth



Going into work this week and this is what I found! It's an uphill battle. I'd eaten 2 before I'd taken my jacket off. And more arrived on Wednesday courtesy of a colleague who was leaving. I love chocolate but I wish it wasn't so in my face.

This was on top of having a great weekend away. And it always means a daily lb weight gain as soon as I leave the house! We stayed in a hut, a shepherd's hut, and it was so cosy and cute! Really loved it. Had a day in Edinburgh where a closing Costa plied us with goodies that were just about to go in the bin! We rescued lemon tarts, chocolate muffins, bread and bacon butties!! Back at the shed we were drinking and picking at crisps and nuts etc etc. A fab weekend away! What can I say? I'll not apologise... Sorry mum ha ha (you're the exception). 😘

My daughter took me out for a 4 course lunch with prosecco. It was delicious! But obviously not suitable for losing weight... But when your daughter treats you you don't decline.

I have got temporary front teeth though. The bridge I broke when away in Austria has finally been removed. Got terrible looking temporary which I'm scared of using so I might be on a liquid diet for 3 weeks! Hot chocolate, chocolate milkshake, melted Mars bars and chocolate Bailey's. Sorted

Good news - seen my GP and he's referring me to a nutritionist. I can't imagine what she'll tell me because let's face it I actually know all about losing weight (even though I'm rubbish at doing it myself) but I have to do something. I think I might have to go cold turkey on sugar. Anyone know how long the shakes will last?

What kind of fillings do I have? Chocolate ones of course. Boom boom!

Thursday, 12 October 2017

Professional

 I was in Aberdeen early one morning so thought I'd treat myself to breakfast at M&S. They had no decaf coffee so I had to have hot chocolate and the croissant had to go back as it was raw in the middle - at least this saved me some calories.


Weight today : 15st 1½lbs
Weight loss : ½lb


So I'm thinking of quitting work and becoming a full time professional slimmer. In my head the job description is a little like this....

Up at 6am every morning. Firstly take the dog for a nice long walk. Then take a mug of hot water and lemon into the garden, followed my 30 mins of yoga. I would do squats when I brush my teeth! After a healthy breakfast of natural yogurt and berries I would go to a spinning class, then 1½ hours at the gym then a swim and sauna to relax. At home I would tuck into a lovely slimming salad with chicken and olives. Next I'd put on my posh Hunter wellies, smart Tweed coat and leather gloves to take my dog for a walk around the park/forest. I'd quickly change and set off to meet a friend for a green tea. Once home I'd do my housework and I'd lunge when doing the hoovering and I'd stretch while washing the windows. After a healthy supper of salmon with roast vegetables I'd boogie to some great tunes in the kitchen. I'd be in bed by 9am ready to read a good educational book and fall asleep for my 8½ hours of deep sleep.

Now!? What's wrong with this picture? Well I would probably sleep until 8am then drag myself out of bed and take the dog for a quick pee whilst still in my PJs. It would be pouring with rain so I wouldn't go out and I'd do 5 mins of yoga as I wouldn't remember all the moves. I've been trying to do my pelvic floor exercises when brushing my teeth and I think I've managed once in 6 months so I'd never do lunges. I hate olives, Hunter wellies don't fit over my fat carves, I'd look naff in a Tweed coat and I get too hot walking to wear gloves. I'd meet a friend and have a large latte and big bit of cake. I don't like housework and I leave the hoovering to hubby whenever I can. I'd have chips with the supper and a large glass of wine. I'd plonk in front of the TV then drag myself to bed to read a silly chick lit novel.

Also the pay is nil, I have no relevant qualifications or good past experience but it pays huge dividends when I get skinny and fit into my size 12s. Hummm.....

I'm not losing weight..I don't ever want to find it again!

I'd just like to add that all week I've been losing weight. Yesterday I was 2lbs lighter. Last night we went out for burger, fries and milkshake BAM! weight lose gone! 😥

Thursday, 5 October 2017

80 sleeps until Christmas

IMPORTANT MESSAGE: the following blog may contain swearing. Please do not read if easily offended.

Weight today : 15st 1.5lbs
Weight loss : ½lb

So I need to start by saying that I did really try to eat nice healthy food this week. I really really wanted to lose some weight. And... For the most part I succeeded... Um... Apart from when I failed. It's chocolate! I just seem completely incapable of not eating it. I don't buy it so I can't eat it but then someone brings a big pile into work. I'm an adult. I shall just ignore it. But I can see them, in my peripheral vision. I swear they are talking to me. The double deckers teasing me. The Crunchies shouting to be eaten... So I do, of course. Did you ever doubt it? Really? I had two, one of each. Then I went and bought some... Just in case. 

And then I've been stressed. This is not a good state for me, especially when I'm in Tesco. You know what I mean? It's that 'oh fuck it' attitude. None of the healthy salads and fruit & veg for me! Oh no. It's just 'fuck it' I'm getting lasagne and let's have chips too. What about pudding? 'Fuck it' let's have the gooey sweet chocolate mousse with chocolate sauce and chocolate brownies. And a bottle of wine to wash it down. Sounds like a meal deal? The now to be called 'fuck it' deal! The irony is not lost on me. I eat when I'm miserable and yet if I lost weight and had a peachy bum I'd be so happy.

I learnt a new word yesterday. Couch. Ok so the word itself is not new. It's one of my favourite things! The sofa, the soft piece of furniture that I love to lay on whilst reading my book, drinking my wine and eating my Cadburys wholenut ha ha. Ah but couch is also a verb. It means 'express in language of a specified style' eg if you were writing a script for a TV programme you'd do it in a certain way. That is couching. 😉

I've been on this diet for 16 months, and all I've lost is 16 months!