Friday, 30 October 2020

Ladies

 


As you can see I've been to the dentist and had a tooth root cut out of my gum. Cow bone has been inserted which will hopefully fuse to my own bone. I've had six stitches which will be removed in a couple of weeks. Hopefully in 9 months I'll be able to get a new tooth implanted. I do have a false one to tide me over. So I won't be scaring the children for long. It's just my Halloween look.

So if you're not a lady you might want to turn away now. In fact some ladies might want to miss the rest too. I'm talking about periods. Yes it's been discussed before here, but mostly the PMT aspects. Now it's the nitty gritty. My periods started almost 40 years ago on 13 March 1981 (and yes, it was a Friday!). I was still only 11 years old. I hated them then (though it made me feel grown up) and I hate them more now. For starters I've always had bad cramps that last at least 2 days if not more. I was told they'd get better after having children - they haven't! So 2 days every month for 40 years is 960 days (about 3 solid years!) of pain and misery. Ok we can take off pregnancy and breast feeding months but still! On top of that we have sanitary protection. In 1981 a huge wad in your knickers like a nappy! Yuk. But at least I didn't have to wear a sanitary belt like 60 years ago. And trying to negotiate tampons at the tender age of 11 was interesting. I abandoned my first try, and just popped it back in the box. My older sisters were not impressed (unsurprisingly - jeez Gilly!?) I was very young! Of course we all have our period pants. Black, big, comfy things. No one wants to wear their pretty sexy knickers at this time of the month. (No! I didn't have sexy knickers at 11, now I'm talking about when I was older). I had my two children 7 years apart. For me, 10 years of menstruating would have sufficed thank you. As I get older I hate them even more. It's just a smelly sticky painful waste of time. And money. My sister did tell me about the moon cup which is very eco friendly but it didn't appeal. Luckily my periods are very very light (I absolutely feel the pain of my friends who have really heavy ones that last for days - I just can't imagine it). Anyway, the whole point of this rant is that I've discovered actual period pants! No other protection needed! How fab is that? I'm so delighted. They are pretty big, and very comfy but they are not attractive at all. I've not even shown my husband they look so unattractive but they are so worth it. I wish they'd been invented when I was 11!! Now you might be thinking that getting period pants at the ripe old age of 51 is a bit late in the day? Maybe, but not only are they period pants they are pee pants too! Ha ha ha ha ha!

It seems impossible, until it's done.

No comments:

Post a Comment